Coffee vs. Inspiration

I don’t know about y’alls, but without a cup of Joe – it’s hard for me to focus on a single topic. My many inner characters all start chattering at once, and I need a cup of cafecito to help me get in gear…or at least to help me hone in on one idea. So here I sit in front of my laptop. Half upset that I cannot get myself back to my writing, and half excited that I am going to be paid $100 to pick someone up from the airport. Life is strange for a freelance artist.

I suppose I should have known this when I decided to do art administration and writing and media and all that other stuff I like to do all at the same time. The only drawback is that these odd jobs take up a lot of time. Time I need to sit and soak with ideas.

I used to think that coffee will jump start me into inspiration. But that is not how it work. I don’t think it works in any craft. Coffee: it gets my heart racing. Writing: It gets my heart dancing. But coffee, how to best explain this development I have with you? I suppose the caffeine gets me a little paranoid sometimes. Like right now, I feel like someone is watching me write this and judging me. This old man next to me actually, he had the whole flipping couch to himself  and he sits on the edge closest to my table.

Ay coffee, this is what you do!

I’ll have to go back to the drawing board. I think I may start drawing again to help me get in touch with my characters. It’s been a while. Time to dig deep. They’re knocking on my door, and soon enough I fear they may get sick of me and leave. It’s pressing right now because I plan to apply to a couple of Creative Writing MFA programs at the end of this year and in the coming next year. After some deep thinking about what to do after a couple of years of freelance work, I think I want to focus and finish this book. I love this book. I love it and it’s not finished, and that’s a problem.

I am hoping to do a program that pays so I can really focus on writing and helping others find their inner voices/style. I am ready to inspire and get inspired.

Also, I have to start finding the things that trick me into thinking inspiration will flow from them…like coffee. It doesn’t create any inspiration really. So I have to find other things to do. I might go back to people watching again. It’s been a while.

Hmm. Now to deal with a looky-loo here, a fast pacing heart and jittery fingers. Good grief!

Good luck on your journeys!

What are your thoughts?

