My family and their close relationship to my sanity

The Simpsons

I spent the last two days reconnecting with family. You know, getting back to my roots  and arriving at a conclusion as to why I had moved six hours away from them. The reason is because one of my gigs in the East Bay ends in April, and I have to decide if I should go back to LA or stay in Nor-Cal.

I arrived around midnight and sat at the dinner table while mom cooked some last minute papa a la huancaina. Yum. My sister sat beside me and  updated me on family drama. Meanwhile, my thirteen year-old brother challenges me to a Mario Bros. 3  game, AND he refuses to believe I used to be a gamer.

And it hits me. God I miss these freaks. I miss them so much and instantly being around them makes me nostalgic. It’s sad really, especially because my brother grew like three inches while I was away. Where does the time go?

So why did I leave? I ask myself. After the second day of family craziness and drama I realized quickly why I left. I am the oldest in my family. The only one who has received a college degree. I cannot go backwards. I have to move on in search of something that could help me help them…from a distance, so I don’t go crazy.

Don’t get me wrong. I love my family. I love them to bits! But they are cray cray. Let’s be real, I am sure there are a lot of people (if not all) who can say — My family drives me nuts!

But in all honesty, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I am back in my little hole in the wall apartment now and I think about them. I think about our adventures, our jokes, our insults, our challenges, and it inspires me to write. If I was short any muses before — FORGET ABOUT IT!  I started voice recording writing notes on my drive back to the Bay. So much to do. So much to write!

What are your thoughts?

