First Book Recommendation: Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird

simplicity

Dear Blog Land…hello y’alls! Hope you are all doing well this Sunday afternoon. Me? You ask, well—I’ve got the most annoying writer’s block in my life. The kind that makes me sound like a deuchbag going through an existential crisis at a friend’s get together after one too many beers.

But what does it really mean to have writer’s block? I am starting to understand it better now. It means I haven’t greased my engine. It means that I have been lazy. I have been neglecting the one thing that used to bring peace to my life: reading. It’s simple really, instead of complaining just write about what it is you are going through until (eventually) the writing will morph into what you want it to be!   Ugh.   I hope this is the answer. For now, I am going to rely on some books given to me by my PhD candidate friend from UC Berkeley. I’m starting with Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott. The chapter emphasized is “Shitty First Drafts.”

I’ve read the chapter before in a creative writing class, but it’s time for a refresher.

My friend suggested I catch up on some books that are made to inspire writers who are also women of color because apparently we have our own disease of writer’s block to deal with.

Book List from UC Berkeley PhD Candidate that I am sharing with you:

1. Bird by bird by Anne Lamott

2. Woman Native Other by Trinh T. Minh-ha

3. Writing Down the Bones by Natalie Goldberg

4. Borderlands, La Frontera by Gloria Anzaldúa

Happy Reading y’all, and wish me luck.   I need it.

3 thoughts on “First Book Recommendation: Anne Lamott’s Bird by Bird

What are your thoughts?

