Eavesdropping Installation 1 (aka The Blind Date)

oatmealandart300

Interesting People: Short Latin Guy & Slightly Taller Chicana Woman. He has an accent, and she does not.
Location: Random Cafe in Berkeley
Situation: Blind Date…I think.

Guy: Why do you want to change tattoo your name into a Hawaiian name? (He actually said this.)
Lady: I love Hawaiians, I really enjoy being in their company…
Guy: What is your full name?
Lady: (Says her name) …but that’s my married name.
Guy: Do you have daughters?
Lady: I have three children, my oldest is 22-
Guy: Three?! I thought you only had two?
Lady: My text strictly said, my youngest is 12 and my oldest is 22. I didn’t lie, I just didn’t want to explain over a text.
Guy: Oh…okay.

(They drink coffee and whisper)
Lady: I had an amazing conversation with a lady the other day.
Guy: Where did you meet her?
Lady: It was in a political class. It was me and her and it was education…for art. She was taught and …it was like….

(Some random boring stuff about the school she met her in.)

Lady: Did you know that California has sister towns? So Berkeley’s sister town is Guadalajara. Every city has a sister city, and I had no idea! She says, the reason is because the United States thinks that they are the beginning and the end of the declaration and this is bullshit. This is what we do in the USA. We go to another country, and we want to tell another country how to live. There is violence going on everywhere, but we are there to control it. That’s what we’re there for. We’re maintaining the violence elsewhere.
Guy: You are saying the US creates an extension of violence? It gets out of hand.
Lady: Maybe because we have to have our opinion about everything…UGH! I hate politics and talking about it. It’s so pretentious.

(They drop it.)

Guy: Member? Just like George Lopez.
Lady: Wassup ey?! Wassup vato?!
Guy: Did you grow up with Norteñas?
Lady: Yeah. It’s good girl stuff. I was part of the good girl club. …haha, just kidding! (She pushes his arm and he laughs with her. The date is looking good.) I’m serious! We were called _________bras!
Guy: What?
Lady: This was back in the 70s. Back lowrider Mexican style. Let me show you some pictures.  (She pulls out her wallet). That’s my mom, and that’s my dad…when he died it was in the newspaper. Someone snapped a picture of him, a
Lady: And then he died a week later.   That’s my favorite uncle! He is my favorite. Are you okay? Are you tired?
Guy: Are you?    You’re sharing so much of your life…

Lady: And I’m going to put all of this in a movie.
Guy: U-huh.
Lady: Okay pause.
Guy: What?
Lady: Can I go to the bathroom, comma, and then can we talk about _________?

* * * * * *

I’m going to stop eavesdropping now because I’m pretty sure this Lady is part of the Latin Mafia. Blog Land, you should enjoy a little eavesdropping every now and then. See how fast you can type people talking. If you want, record it privately while you sit in a coffee place. Why? Sometimes as writers we forget about the little details. The colors  of the walls, the smell of coffee stuck to the hair of the usual customers, the awkward blind dates, and the weird writer girl hidding behind a pillar typing away at a conversation.

So many possibilities! So many characters. 🙂

What are your thoughts?

