They Might Learn to HATE Vampire Movies

My friend and I walked by a cafe last night, and it sprung a memory of a guy who used to go there often. I remember him distinctly because he would dress up like Edward Cullen (better known as the James Dean rip off) from the Twilight movies. He sat there looking mysterious, read books, and drank black coffee. The jacket collar was always hiked up to his temples and even in the rain he sat outside under a heat lamp with the comfort of his book to console his chilly loins.

I told my friend about him, and we began to laugh. Regardless of our banter, I’m sure lost of girls gravitated his way.

Following the topic of vampires and Twilight movies, my friend proceeds to share a story about her teacher friend from L.A. who often has to fix high school student drama. You know, things like — a guy in school is not a VAMPIRE, so a girl won’t date him, kids biting each other, and crazy stuff like that. Goodness me. I mean, I had a mad crush on Drop Dead Fred  back in the days, but at least he was imaginary. My friend and I remained on this topic, and it triggered yet another memory of an article I read a couple of years ago regarding the Twilight name phenomenon.

The online article was about popular baby names in 2010. Isabella and Jacob were at the top.      Now, let’s think about this.

In about 5-10 years, most of these kids will be in similar kindergardens, elementary schools, jr. high schools, high schools and colleges. Can you imagine what role call will be like for most of them?

Bella Ramirez?

Present.

Jacob Smith?

Present.

Bella Fray?

Present?

Bella Thomas?

Present…?

Jacob Rodriguez?

…present?

I wonder if they’ll look around the room and think, WHY DO WE ALL HAVE THE SAME NAMES?
I wonder if  they’ll learn to HATE vampires movies or embrace them? I wonder about a lot of things regarding pop culture sometimes, and the consequences to our easily influence minds. I include myself in this too, of course…but I probably won’t be naming my future mutant child Bella anytime soon.

In retrospect, this gentleman at the cafe should probably strive to be more like Jacob. Edward was not part of the top ten names after all. In fact, he was ranked 136th on the name list. Just a thought.

2 thoughts on “They Might Learn to HATE Vampire Movies

  1. Twilight is a series of four vampire-themed fantasy romance novels by American author Stephenie Meyer. It charts a period in the life of Isabella “Bella” Swan, a teenage girl who moves to Forks, Washington, and falls in love with a 104-year-old vampire named Edward Cullen. The series is told primarily from Bella’s point of view, with the epilogue of Eclipse and Part II of Breaking Dawn being told from the viewpoint of character Jacob Black, a werewolf. The unpublished Midnight Sun is a retelling of the first book, Twilight, from Edward Cullen’s point of view. *

    Latest piece of writing from our personal blog
    <.http://www.caramoantourpackage.com

    Like

What are your thoughts?

