Crunchie Children of the Future…maybe…ew, I can’t believe I just wrote that.

Confession: I like the song “I Won’t Give Up” by Jason Mraz.

I really do. It’s the softie part in me.

The part of me that looks at white butterflies fly by when people are telling me their deepest secrets. The part of me that dreams about running in the grass and flying as Goliath the famous Gargoyle (this is a 90’s TV reference, if you don’t know it–don’t talk to me). The part of me that wishes she could speak French, just so that she can tell that waiter in Paris that a Mexican salad is not a Greek Salad with Doritos on top. The part of me that hopes to God she won’t be remembered by her nicknames (they are absolutely terrible). The part of me that wishes to sell a song on iTunes, preferably one with the title Suck on It ********. The part of me that someday will grow up to be a full fleshed adult; with responsibilities, a mortgage, and a dog to walk. Yes, that softie part of me.

Someday, I hope to be a granola parent, and sing a cover of this song to my future crunchie child. That little kid will have dreadlocks, and she/he/it will bathe once a week to preserve water. The child will be raised to love nature, and go to protests on the weekends. And maybe, just maybe…the child will be named after an element of the Periodic Table. Like Silver for a boy…I’d call him Sil or Ver. Maybe Ruthenium for a girl, I’d call her Ruthie or Then. Maybe Thorium for the it child, who choses to be identified as a no-sex. I could call that child Thor (cartoons everywhere). Thor. That’s a good name.

I can’t believe I just talked about potentially having kids. Damn you Mraz! Damn you and your beautiful song.

What are your thoughts?

